Frugal
            

Pennsylvania Ballet Presents George Balanchine’s The Nutcracker™

nutcracker

Delight in the Philadelphia region’s most beloved holiday tradition, George Balanchine’s The Nutcracker™, December 7-29, 2013 at the Academy of Music, and start a new tradition with Nutcracker Market – Pennsylvania Ballet’s first-ever holiday gift fair at the Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts, December 6-8, 2013. George Balanchine’s The Nutcracker™ is supported by First Niagara Foundation.

A must-see for children and adults alike, George Balanchine’s The Nutcracker™ boasts glittering sets and costumes, world-class dancing, dozens of young students from The School of Pennsylvania Ballet, and all the flair of a Broadway spectacular. The Pennsylvania Ballet Orchestra and Philadelphia Boys Choir bring the masterful Tschaikovsky score to life. Get lost in the story of Marie’s magical gift, a suspenseful battle between soldiers and mice, and the dreamy Land of Sweets. Plus, there’s no more enchanting setting than the breathtaking Academy of Music.

New this year! Pennsylvania Ballet is proud to join with the Kimmel Center in collecting coats, mittens, gloves, and scarves for Cradles to Crayons, on campus December 6-8 at both Nutcracker performances at the Academy of Music and Nutcracker Market at the Kimmel Center. Cradles to Crayons provides children from birth to age 12, living in low- income and homeless situations, with the essential items they need to thrive – at home, at school, and at play.

Tickets to all 24 performances of George Balanchine’s The Nutcracker™ at the Academy of Music are on sale now, starting at $35. Tickets are available online at paballet.org, by phone at 215.893.1999, and in person at the Kimmel Center Box Office.

George Balanchine’s The Nutcracker™ performances at the Academy of Music:

  • Saturday, December 7 at 2 p.m. and 7 p.m.
  • Sunday, December 8 at noon and 5 p.m.
  • Friday, December 13 at 7 p.m.
  • Saturday, December 14 at 2 p.m. and 7 p.m.
  • Sunday, December 15 at noon and 5 p.m.
  • Thursday, December 19 at 7 p.m.
  • Friday, December 20 at 7 p.m.
  • Saturday, December 21 at 2 p.m. and 7 p.m.
  • Sunday, December 22 at noon and 5 p.m.
  • Monday, December 23 at 2 p.m.
  • Tuesday, December 24 at noon
  • Thursday, December 26 at 2 p.m. and 7 p.m.
  • Friday, December 27 at 2 p.m.
  • Saturday, December 28 at 2 p.m. and 7 p.m.
  • Sunday, December 29 at noon and 5 p.m.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.